This year, 48 works have been nominated in the various categories. They come from 26 students on 6 courses in the Netherlands and 3 in Flemish-speaking Belgium. Some of them have received more than one nomination. For example, David Joosten (KABK, The Hague) has been nominated no fewer than five times, while Anna den Drijver and Roy Soetekouw (both of the Fotoacademie, Amsterdam) have each received four nominations. Sanja Marusic (KABK, The Hague) and Juliette Polak (Fotoacademie, Amsterdam) have each been nominated three times, and eight other contestants have been nominated twice.

The expert jury was chaired by Lars Boering, director of the federation of professional photographers in the Netherlands and founder of the Lux Photo Gallery, and composed of Caroline Brugman (ELLE), Kaat Celis & Eric De Mildt (De Morgen), Ross McCurrach (Happiness Brussels), Heike G√ľlker (Volkskrant magazine/V), Muriel Mager & Ronald Schmets (Sophie Maree), Jan Paul Mioulet (P/f), Edie Peters (PhotoQ), Piet Sloot & Stephan Peters (√ąPOS|PRESS) and Robert Theunissen (SHUTR). The nominated entries will be exhibited at the Hague Museum of Photography and compete for nine different category prizes in the form of publications, exhibitions and commissions, plus three overall prizes and a public‚Äôs prize. Visitors to the website between 19 July and 28 August (inclusive) can help select the winner of the public‚Äôs prize by voting for their favourite work. The overall winner of the competition will receive a cash prize of ‚ā¨ 2,500, donated by the Hague Museum of Photography. Following the show in The Hague, the winning works and runners-up will be exhibited in Amsterdam, Antwerp, Eindhoven, Groningen, Rotterdam and other places in the Netherlands and Belgium.